Surya Nepal Central Open Day One; Amateur Golfer Tenzing Tsering Leading.

Amateur golfer Tenzing Tsering took the lead after the first round of the Surya Nepal Central Open, the fourth event under the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2016-17, at the par-72 Gokarna Golf Club on Monday.

The national golf team member Tenzing carded six-under 66 to stay at the top of the leaderboard. He is four strokes ahead of professional golfers Bhuwan Nagarkoti and Sanjay Lama. Bhuwan and Sanjay carded two-under 70. Rabi Khadka is fourth at one-under 71.

Nepal No 1 pro Shivaram Shrestha and Bal Bhadra Rai of Dharan share the fifth position at one-over 73, while Deepak Acharya is seventh at two-over 74.  Likewise, amateur Tanka Bahadur Karki shared the eight position with pros Rajendra Shrestha Pradhan, Jayaram Shrestha and Dhana Bahadur Thapa at three-over 75. Chuda Bahadur Bhandari and Surya Prasad Sharma are joint 12th at four-over 76 along with amateur Mithun Rai.

Leader Tenzing played three-under 33 on both the halves. On the front nine, Tenzing sank eagles on the third and seventh holes and dropped a shot on the fourth hole. After taking the turn, Tenzing carded birdies on the 11th, 12th and 15th holes.

Pros Bhuwan and  Sanjay carded two-under 34 on the front nine and played even-par 36 on the back nine. Bhuwan carded birdies on the second, third and seventh holes against a bogey on the sixth hole. On the back nine, he shot birdies on the 10th and 12th holes and faced a double bogey on the 14th hole. Likewise, Sanjay carded birdies on the first, third and fifth holes against a bogey on the fourth hole, while he carded birdies on the 11th and 13th holes against bogeys on the 14th and 16th holes.

Top golfer Shivaram played two-over 38 on the front nine before playing one-under 35 on the back nine.

A total of 33 professional golfers and 15 amateurs are taking part in the tournament. The event carries a cash purse of Rs 600,000. Winner of the event will bag Rs 110,000, the runner-up will earn Rs 70,000 and the third-place winner will get Rs 45,000. Others in the 21 places will also earn prize money.

Post Comment via Facebook