Nepal Drawn With Hosts Qatar, Philippines in Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy

Nepal have been drawn with hosts Qatar and Philippines in Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy.

As many as 11 teams from across the region will slug it out for a spot at the Asia Rugby Sevens Series, when the Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy is played on March 3 and 4 in Doha.

The competition is expected to be intense as the Sevens Series competition in Hong Kong, Korea and Sri Lanka in September and October this year is an opportunity to make it to the Rugby World Cup 7’s 2018.

With so much at stake, the draw, which was held at the Movenpick Hotel, Al Aziziyah, and divided the teams into four groups, assumed that much more importance.

Hosts Qatar were drawn along with fourth seed the Philippines and Nepal in Group B, making for an exciting couple of matches at the group stage given the huge presence of expats from these countries.

Top seeds Singapore were drawn with Pakistan and Jordan in Group A, while second seeds Thailand will have Iran and Bangladesh for company in Group D.

With Lebanon pulling out due to financial constraints, Group C has the United Arab Emirates and India.

Pool A: Singapore, Pakistan, Jordan
Pool B: Philippines, Qatar, Nepal
Pool C: UAE, India
Pool D: Thailand, Iran, Bangladesh


March 3, 2017
1:30pm: Pakistan v Jordan (Pool A)
1:52pm: Qatar v Nepal (Pool B)
2:14pm: Iran v Bangladesh (Pool D)
4:15pm: Singapore v Jordan (Pool A)
4:37pm: Philippines v Nepal (Pool B
4:59pm: UAE v India (Pool C)
5:21pm: Thailand v Bangladesh (Pool D)
6:30pm: Singapore v Pakistan (Pool A)
6:52pm: Philippines v Qatar (Pool B)
7:14pm: UAE v India (Pool C)
7:36pm: Thailand v Iran (Pool D)

* The draw allows for a total of 26 matches including the final
* 11 preliminary matches will be played on Friday and 15 on Saturday
* That’s 364 minutes of top class rugby sevens action
* The draw is designed so that each team plays a minimum of 2 matches pre quarter-finals

(From Gulf-Times)

Post Comment via Facebook